You are here

» Algoma University College Faculty Association

Algoma University College Faculty Association

Algoma University Faculty Association fonds

Start Date: 
End Date: 
Date Range: 

Algoma University College Faculty Association

Physical Description: 

3.24 m of textual records

History Biographical: 

The Algoma University Faculty Association (AUFA), formerly the Algoma University College Faculty Association (AUCFA) is a member of the Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA). AUFA's original constitution was adopted on November 20, 1967; it has been revised in 2000, 2003, and 2005.

As a member organization of the OCUFA, AUFA seeks to maintain and enhance the quality of higher education in Ontario, and to advance the professional and economic interests of teachers, researchers, and librarians in Ontario universities. With the OCUFA, the AUFA works to ensure that the views of its members are communicated to government policy makers, the public, and those concerned with the quality and accessibility of post-secondary education.

The current AUFA President is Professor Pelham Matthews (Business); past presidents have included Professor Noni Boyle (Fine Arts), Dr. Richard J. Bazillion (History), Dr. Lloyd Bannerman (Philosophy), and Dr. Cheryl Reed-Elder (Psychology), Dr. Istvan Imre (Biology), and Dr. Linda Burnett (English).

Scope Content: 

Fonds comprises records that document the faculty association's activities as the bargaining unit for Algoma University College's full-time and sessional faculty members. Fonds comprises minutes of AUCFA meetings, correspondence and memoranda predominantly with AUCFA members, AUC administration, the OCUFA, and the Canadian Association of University Teachers (CAUT). Also includes records regarding the Royal Commission of Inquiry on Algoma University College (1976-1977) and other studies and reports on AUC and university issues generally.

Custodial History: 

Fonds arranged in the following series: S00207: Governance; S00208: General Meetings; S00209: Committees and Processes (including the Executive Committee, Peer Review Committee, Joint Consultative Committee, Grievance Committee, Pension and Benefits Advisory Committee, Teaching and Learning Committee, Communications Committee, etc.); S00210: Collective Bargaining Units (including Full-Time and Part-Time); S00211: Legal (External Processes) S00212: Finances S00213: Correspondence S00214: Employment Records S00215: Miscellaneous

Access Restriction: 

Access is restricted. Users must obtain permission in writing from the Executive of AUFA. Direct requests to the Library Director, Arthur A. Wishart Library. Researchers must adhere to applicable copyright law and privacy legislation.

Repro Restriction: 

Restrictions on use and reproductions apply. Written permission of the AUFA Executive is required for reproduction from materials in the fonds. Researchers must adhere to applicable copyright law and privacy legislation. Archives staff must make reproductions. Reproductions are dependent on the fragility of the originals.


Basic conservation performed during processing of accessions.

Description Level: 
Geographic Access: