Arranged in the Chapel restoration series and the Registers series.
Constructed in 1883 by the staff and students of the Shingwauk Indian Residential School, the Bishop Fauquier Memorial Chapel is the only surviving building of the original Shingwauk School. The Chapel is dedicated to the member of the first Bishop of Algoma, Frederick Dawson Fauquier, and is a link the between the First Nations, the Anglican Church and the community. The Chapel is managed jointly by the Shingwauk Education Trust and the Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association, the former students of the Shingwauk and Wawanosh Indian Residential Schools.
The pointed arch openings, rose windows and steeply pitched gables and dormers of the Chapel are all characteristic of the Gothic Revival Style. The half-timbered framing and infill are Tudor elements which have been incorporated into this picturesque chapel.
Fonds comprises records documenting activities at the Bishop Fauquier Memorial Chapel. Includes parish, service and vestry books, documentation, reports and ephemera.